Log in

National Council of State Boards of Examiners

Log in

States with Telepractice Regulations

  • Alabama
  • Alaska (Alaska Telemedicine Regs)
  • Arizona (HB 2454 May 2021)
  • Arkansas
  • Connecticut (Connecticut Telehealth Act 2015; Amended 2018 to include audiologists and SLPs)
  • Delaware
  • Florida (Florida Telehealth Act 2019)
  • Georgia
  • Idaho (Idaho Telehealth Access Act)
  • Illinois
  • Indiana (Gen. Stat. Provisions – IC 25-1 9.5)
  • Iowa  
  • Kentucky
  • Louisiana**
  • Maine (P.L. 2021, c. 291)
  • Maryland
  • Montana
  • Nebraska (Nebraska Telehealth Act)
  • Nevada
  • New Hampshire (Chap 328-F. 11b.)
  • New Jersey (Uniform Enforcement Act 45:1-61., 62., 63.)
  • New Mexico
  • North Carolina
  • Ohio
  • Oklahoma
  • Oregon
  • South Dakota (SLP only; No provisions in Audiology Statute or Regulations)
  • Tennessee (TCA 63-1-155 Telehealth)
  • Texas
  • Utah (Utah Telehealth Act 2017 [Title 26, Chapter 60]; Utah Admin Code Rule R14-42 Telemedicine 8-1-2019)
  • Vermont (Telehealth Registration Act [Act 107} May-9-2022)
  • West Virginia
  • Wyoming

*Florida passed Telehealth, Chapter 2019-137, Florida Laws, which establishes standards of practice for telehealth services, including patient evaluations, record-keeping, and controlled substances prescribing. The law also authorizes out-of-state practitioners to perform telehealth services for patients in FL upon meeting certain eligibility requirements and registering with the Dept. of Health. The department is working on implementation and expects the application for out-of-state providers to be available in early fall 2019.

**In addition to telehealth regulations, telepractice registration, a limited license, is available to out-of-state providers who wish to provide telepractice services to clients located in Louisiana.  The “home” license of the out-of-state provider must be based on equivalent qualification (degree, practicum, examination, etc.) standards or standards which exceed those established in Louisiana.

States with Policy Statements or Guidelines Only:

  • California – Policy Statement rather than Regulation
  • District of Columbia – Policy Statement
  • Massachusetts – Policy Statement (Revised 2022)
  • Minnesota – Policy Statement
  • New York – Guidelines (rather than regulations)
  • South Carolina – Policy Statement
  • Virginia – Guidance Document
  • Washington – Guideline Document

States (11) with no licensure laws, regulations, or policies governing telepractice:

Colorado, Hawaii, Kansas, Michigan, Mississippi, Missouri, North Dakota, Pennsylvania, Rhode Island, South Dakota–Audiology, Wisconsin   

National Council of State Boards of Examiners


3416 Primm Lane
Birmingham, Alabama 35216
Phone: 205-823-6106
Fax: 205-824-7700
Powered by Wild Apricot Membership Software